Band

The Swiss melodic hard rock/metal outfit CRYSTAL BALL is celebrating the band’s 20th anniversary with the release of “2020” – their first ever best-of album – relesed on August 2nd via Massacre Records!

The album includes a total of 20 tracks on 2 CDs – there are 10 re-recorded and newly interpreted songs from the band’s first decade, and 10 melodic metal tracks from the band’s second decade, which were either re-recorded, newly arranged and/or enhanced with additional recordings. All songs were chosen based on results of fan polls and streaming analyses.

Stefan Kaufmann is once again responsible for the production, recordings and mastering – and along with Mattes for the mixing at ROXX Studio. Thomas Ewerhard is responsible for the cover artwork.

2020” is an album for die-hard fans that are around since the band’s early days but also for those who have barely heard of the band before. Needless to say that this album should be part of every record collection!

The band started in 1995 as a cover band named «Cherry Pie» and they played countless concerts. These years of stage experiences became the foundation of CRYSTAL BALL, under whose banner the band became one of Europe´s major forces in the hard rock genre. With «In The Beginning» CRYSTAL BALL started their crusade in 1999. The first album was very successful, but topped with ease from the follow-up «Hard Impact», hailed as “Album Of The Months” in several magazines. Followed by a successful tour with PRETTY MAIDS. Nobody was able to hide from CRYSTAL BALL anymore. The result: a new record contract with Nuclear Blast.

With «Virtual Empire» (2002) CRYSTAL BALL toured massively Europe, together first with DOKKEN and then with U.D.O., DORO and KROKUS. In 2003 the fourth album «HELLvetia, produced by former U.D.O./ ACCEPT member Stefan Kaufmann, became a more edgy effort and increased the success of CRYSTAL BALL enormously. Successful tours with AXXIS, PINK CREAM 69 and KROKUS saw CRYSTAL BALL increase their fan base following again. «Timewalker», once more produced by Kaufmann, delivered great catchy songs, full of freshness and power The band´s very first headliner tour with then-labelmates THUNDERSTONE followed the release in 2005. In 2007 CRYSTAL BALL inked a new record deal with AFM Records. «Secrets» was their sixth album, a great piece of Hard Rock, produced by Michael Bormann.

2013 CRYSTAL BALL came back after a longer break, with the album «Dawnbreaker». Stronger than ever! The original members Scott Leach and Marcel Sardella reformed CRYSTAL BALL with fresh blood and a great new frontman, Steven Mageney from Wuppertal, Germany. The boys signed a new record deal with Massacre Records. The band played 40 shows in six countries. Their successful tours with Krokus and The Poodles made it clear for all the show attendants: The Balls are back … for good!

2015 CRYSTAL BALL strikes again with „LifeRider“. The album received very positive reviews all over the world and was titled as the best CRYSTAL BALL album so far from fans and journalists. With „LifeRiderCRYSTAL BALL manages the balancing act between classical hard rock and modern metal. The guest appearance of BATTLE BEAST singer Noora Louhimo (duet „Eye to Eye“) tops off the excellent production by Stefan Kaufmann. Tony „T.C.“ Castell (ex-KROKUS) joins the band. Successful shows with the SCORPIONS and THUNDER followed. Also a collaboration with musicians of the Sinphony Orchestra Wuppertal who joined Crystal Ball live on stage.

„Déjà-Voodoo“ was released on the 22.09.2016. A tour through Switzerland and Germany together with SHAKRA left rock fans with a lasting impression. In 2017 CRYSTAL BALL rocked their French fans on a mini tour together with FREEDOM CALL. In addition to their own headlining shows CRYSTAL BALL also shared the stages not only with PRIMAL FEAR, PRETTY MAIDS but also with the guitar hero AXEL RUDI PELL. In the summer of 2017 CRYSTAL BALL has played at various festivals, peaking at the Rock the Ring festival (Hinwil, Switzerland) together with DEEP PURPLE, GOTTHARD and KROKUS.

With the critical acclaims for the last album still going on, the bustling Swiss melodic rocker strike again. CRYSTAL BALLs 10th studio album Crystallizer was released  in April 2018 subsequently supported by a common tour with AXEL RUDI PELLCrystallizer hit the German charts on #61 and rank #18 in Switzerland. Followed by headliner shows in Switzerland and appearances at festivals like Rock of Ages or Pyraser Classic Rock. In Autmn 2018 CRYSTAL BALL successfully  completed their first headliner tour through Germany.

Band


Die Melodic Hard Rock/Metal Formation CRYSTAL BALL aus der Schweiz zelebriert ihr 20. Jubiläum mit «2020» – ihrem ersten Best-Of Album, das am 2. August bei MASSACRE RECORDS erscheinen wird! Das Album beinhaltet auf 2 CDs insgesamt 20 Songs – neben 10 neu eingespielten und neu interpretierten Songs aus der ersten Banddekade wird es auch 10 melodiöse Metaltracks der aktuellen Schaffensphase geben, die entweder neu eingespielt, neu arrangiert und/oder mit zusätzlichen Aufnahmen aufgewertet wurden.

Alle Songs wurden auf Grundlage von Fanbefragungen und Streaming-Analysen ermittelt. Stefan Kaufmann ist abermals für die Produktion, die Aufnahmen und das Mastering sowie in Zusammenarbeit mit Mattes auch für den Mix des Albums im ROXX Studio verantwortlich. Das Artwork stammt von Thomas Ewerhard.

«2020» ist ein Album sowohl für die Fans der ersten Stunde als auch für CRYSTAL BALL-Neulinge, das in keiner seriösen Plattensammlung fehlen darf!

SEE YOU ON TOUR, CRYSTALHEADS!

Die Band hat 1995 als Cover-Band angefangen, damals noch unter dem Namen “Cherry Pie” und hat unzählige Konzerte gespielt. Diese grosse Bühnenerfahrung, hat zur Gründung von CRYSTAL BALL geführt und unter diesem Banner sind sie zu einer von Europas führenden Grössen im Hard Rock-Genre geworden. Mit „In the Beginning“, haben CRYSTAL BALL 1999 ihren Kreuzzug gestartet. Das erste Album war sehr erfolgreich, ist aber locker von seinem Nachfolger „Hard Impact“ übertroffen worden, welches von div. Magazinen als „Album Of The Month“ hochgelobt worden ist. Es folgte eine erfolgreiche Tour mit PRETTY MAIDS. Keiner konnte sich vor CRYSTAL BALL mehr verstecken. Das Resultat: einen neuen Plattendeal mit dem Branchenriesen Nuclear Blast!

Mit “Virtual Empire” (2002) ist CRYSTAL BALL intensiv durch Europa getourt, zuerst mit DOKKEN, dann mit U.D.O., DORO und KROKUS. 2003 folgt das vierten Album „HELLvetia“ welches vom früheren Accept- / U.D.O.- Mitglied Stefan Kaufmann produziert worden ist. Das raue „HELLvetia“ hat den Erfolg von CRYSTAL BALL enorm unterstrichen. Erfolgreiche Touren mit Axxis, Pink Cream 69 und Krokus haben CRYSTAL BALL noch einmal eine grössere Fan-Base beschert! “Timewalker” (2005) wurde erneut von Kaufmann produziert und bot den Fans eingängige Songs voller Frische und Power. Es folgte die erste Headliner-Tour zusammen mit den Label-Kumpels THUNDERSTONE. 2007 haben CRYSTAL BALL einen neuen Plattenvertrag mit AFM Records unterzeichnet. „Secrets“, ihr sechstes Album, wurde ein grossartiges Stück Hard Rock, produziert von Michael Bormann.

2013 meldete sich die legendäre Schweizer Hard-Rock Band CRYSTAL BALL nach längerer Abstinenz mit dem Album «Dawnbreaker» zurück; und zwar stärker als je zuvor! Als Power-Transfusion, holten die zwei Original-Mitglieder Scott Leach und Marcel Sardella, den grossartigen Frontmann Steven Mageney aus Wuppertal. Der Fünfer unterschrieb einen neuen Plattenvertrag bei Massacre Records. Die Band absolvierte 40 Shows in sechs Ländern. Die sehr erfolgreichen Touren mit Krokus und The Poodles, bestätigten jedem Konzert Besucher: The Balls are back … for good!

2015 legten CRYSTAL BALL mit dem Album „LifeRider“ kräftig nach. Das Album erhielt überall sehr positive Kritiken und wird von sehr vielen Fans und Journalisten als das bisher beste CRYSTAL BALL-Album betitelt. Mit „LifeRider“ schafft Crystal Ball den Spagat zwischen klassischem Hardrock und modernem Metal. Der Gastauftritt von BATTLE BEAST Sängerin Noora Louhimo (Duett „Eye To Eye“) setzt dieser hervorragenden Produktion noch das Sahnehäubchen auf. Tony „T.C.“ Castell (ex-Krokus) stösst zur Band. Es folgten erfolgreiche Shows, mit den SCORPIONS und THUNDER, sowie eine Zusammenarbeit mit Musikern der Wuppertaler Sinfonie Orchesters, die mit CRYSTAL BALL live aufgetreten sind.

„Déjà-Voodoo“ erschien am 22.9.2016. Eine Tour zusammen mit SHAKRA, durch die Schweiz und Deutschland, hinterlässt bei den Rockfans einen bleibenden Eindruck. 2017 rocken CRYSTAL BALL auch die französischen Fans auf einer Mini-Tour zusammen mit FREEDOM CALL. Zu den eigenen Headliner-Shows standen CRYSTAL BALL auch mit PRIMAL FEAR, PRETTY MAIDS und dem Gitarrenkünstler AXEL RUDI PELL auf der Bühne. CRYSTAL BALL haben auch diverse Festivals betourt, was als Höhepunkt am Rock the Ring (Hinwil, Schweiz) gemeinsam mit DEEP PURPLE, GOTTHARD und KROKUS gegipfelt hat!